INSIDE LAKESIDE

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

INSIDE LAKESIDE

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.
INSIDE LAKESIDE
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Meaning of Life

+19
Lady Otter Latté
viajero
ra27
JayBear
gringomojado
Rubia
Ms.Thang
ltollefs
halcon
David
CanuckBob
the virginian
WDBarr
artesialulu
oncesubtle
hockables
zenwoodle
Pedro
papa chango
23 posters

Page 1 of 4 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Go down

The Meaning of Life Empty The Meaning of Life

Post by papa chango Wed Jan 14, 2015 12:18 pm

The Meaning of Life

I think of myself as a scientist. I'm not an expert or a professor at some prestigious College. I'm a retired guy enjoying my retirement in Mexico.  I do have some professional experience in science. My degree in college was a BA with a major in zoology and a minor in chemistry. I attended the University of California at Los Angeles Medical School and I have worked in medical research laboratories, epidemiology and computer science (amongst other things).

I enjoy learning about and trying to understand many areas of science, such as cosmology, biology, astronomy, physics, particle physics, genetics, evolution, string theory, chemistry and robotics.  

A few days ago, I was watching one of the Discovery Channels and watched one of Stephen Hawking's programs about the meaning of life.
After the program was over, I thought to myself what does perception and the nature of reality have to do with the meaning of life?  Stephen Hawking is a brilliant physicist but I think the subject of the meaning of life should have been handled by a geneticist, biologist or maybe a philosopher.