INSIDE LAKESIDE

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

INSIDE LAKESIDE

Check your spam/junk folder for activation e-mail after you register.
INSIDE LAKESIDE
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

wi fi conundrum

5 posters

Go down

wi fi conundrum Empty wi fi conundrum

Post by lammrj Thu Nov 19, 2020 9:04 am

I'll try to keep this as short as possible. I have been using Ilox 70 mbs since April 2018. My TV situation changed about 8 months ago and I began to stream IPTV services using Firestick. I was having buffering issues so I did a test on the Firestick speed. My laptop would get 65- 70 mbs sitting next to the Firestick, but the stick would only get 30. I had a Netgear extender lying around so I got an ethernet cable adaptor for the Firestick and connected the extender and started getting 50 + mbs. The buffering issues disappeared. For 3 months,  then the Firestick speed dropped to 30 while the laptop speed remained at 70.

The Netgear was a few years old so, based on internet reviews I tried a TP Link extender, no difference. I decided to up my Ilox speed to 300mbs, thinking if I  was getting a lower percentage of a larger number that would be enough. No difference. I had been using a Steren router since day one with no problem but  since that was the only other end of the connection, I decided , based on internet reviews, to try a TP Link Archer 1750, still no difference. I decided to use the Steren router as an ethernet cable Access Point, and fortunately it had WISP protocol which made setting up a bridge extremely easy. I  started to get 60 - 70 mbs at the Firestick while the laptop was getting 150 -250. No problems.

That lasted about a month. Now I am getting 20 - 30, or less, at the firestick, while the laptop at the same location gets 150 -250.